30 before Thirty

I started this list when I turned 25 and since then life has been a bit of a whirlwind. I’ve had 3 different jobs, 2 apartments, and 1 dog. Z and I got engaged. We’ve lived with both of our families for an extended period of time. I paid off my Masters degree.  We’re almost done saving up the down payment for our house.

Considering I’m someone who thrives on balance and consistency it’s no wonder these 2 years have been rough. Yet we keep moving forward. There are many days when I’m frustrated with the pace of our progress. Those are the days when I look at this list to remember how far we have come together, and remind myself of where I want to build for our future.

  1. Buy our house
  2. Marry Z
  3. Travel the US (specifically Seattle, Buffalo, Kentucky, Colorado)
  4. Travel internationally (London, Sydney, Barcelona, Rome …)
  5. Become an ASHA certified (CCC) Speech-Language Pathologist
  6. Adopt a dog (read the rest of this story)
  7. Train a therapy dog
  8. Research and develop the use of therapy dogs in speech therapy 
  9. Find a job I love 
  10. Pay off my student loan debt
  11. Pay off my car
  12.  Assemble a piece of furniture on the first try
  13. Plant a vegetable garden
  14. Do a fun run
  15. Run a half marathon
  16. Practice yoga regularly
  17. Learn to meditate
  18. Take a salsa class
  19. Read at least one book a month
  20. Expand my repertoire of music
  21. Read every book on this list 
  22. Start a family
  23. Embrace minimalism on my own terms
  24. Practice gratitude
  25. Volunteer with a charity 
  26. Buy a real camera and learn to use it
  27. Learn about wine
  28. Take a cooking class
  29. Keep writing
  30. Love as much as possible

That’s a lot left to accomplish in the next 3 years, but you better believe I’ll be working my booty off to get it done.

Leave a Reply

